Northart is a not for profit. The Northart Society Incorporated is a registered charity. Our Charities Commission registration number is CC20349. At our 2021 AGM, the current Northart Governance Committee was confirmed. 

For further information, or to submit your EOI and CV to our Chair Len Bell, please email


Chairperson - Len Bell

Leonard (Len) Bell has taught Art History at the University of Auckland for many years, though this will be his last year there. He has published extensively and his books include The Maori in European Art: A Survey of the representation of the Maori by European artists from the time of Captain Cook to the present day (A.H. & A.W. Reed, 1980), Colonial Constructs: European Images of Maori 1840-1914, (Auckland University Press, 1992 & E book), In Transit: Questions of Home and Belonging in New Zealand Art (Victoria University, 2007), Marti Friedlander (Auckland University Press & E book, 2009), From Prague to Auckland; the photography of Frank Hofmann 1916-1989 (Gus Fisher Gallery, 2011), Jewish Lives in New Zealand: A History (co-edited, Random House, 2012), Strangers Arrive: Emigres and the Arts in New Zealand 1930-1980 (Auckland University Press & E book, 2017) and Marti Friedlander: Portraits of the Artists, (Auckland University Press & E book, 2020). He has contributed chapters to books on cross-cultural interactions and the visual arts in New Zealand and the Pacific, as well as travel, migration and the arts. He has also written many articles on art in or about New Zealand, both historical and contemporary. These have been published in Australia, Great Britain, USA, The Czech Republic, Germany and Japan, besides New Zealand.


Deputy chairperson - Lindsay Waugh

Lindsay Waugh was elected to the NorthArt Board in November 2019. She graduated from the Wellington School of Design and began her early career with Pacific Films then NZBC and AKTV2 as an art director and production designer. In the last 12 years Lindsay has been a Local Government elected member, firstly for the Birkenhead Northcote Community Board followed by nine years on the Kaipatiki Local Board where she was the inaugural Chair. Lindsay did not seek re-election at the last Auckland Council elections but, along with her appointment to the NorthArt Board, she has gained positions on Auckland Councils Seniors Advisory Panel as well as Auckland Transports Capital Projects and Disability Advisory Panels.


Treasurer - Neville Pulman

Neville was elected to the Northart Board in May 2021. He has a background leading commercial organisations in the private sector and more recently heading up the team at Be. Lab  - a not for profit organisation driving change across the access and disability sector throughout both private and public sector organisations.

Having lived on the North Shore all of his life and having attended schools throughout the Northcote area he is passionate about our piece of paradise. He can often be found on the Waitemata Harbour and supporting the local community Marine Centre. Currently on the board of Leadership New Zealand, he has an extensive network throughout their 700 plus strong Alumni. Neville looks forward to reconnecting with the Northcote and Kaipatiki community and supporting the Arts.


Elected Member - Stu Gray

Stu was elected to the Northart Board in May 2021. Stu has governance experience in both the business and not for profit sectors and is a member of the Institute of Directors. He had a long management and sales career with Fonterra Co-operative in NZ, Australia and the Middle East, was an independent director of Dairyworks, a substantial branded cheese business and is active with Business Mentors NZ. Stu is a former President of the New Zealand Alpine Club, NZ's national climbing and mountaineering body and represents Oceania on the International Climbing and Mountaineering Federation.

He has a lifetime interest in the art world and how artists interpret and respond to their environment.    



Board Alumni: 

Northart is thankful to our previous board members for their time and dedication to the gallery.

Chairperson - Rudy Birzin 

Treasurer - Roger Brown

Secretary - Judith Innes

Elected Member - Trish Northey

Elected Member - Leon Tan 

Co-opted Member - Naomi Bell

Co-opted Member - Megan Shaw

Co-opted Member - Maya Love



Northart Society Incorporated

2020 - 2022 Strategic Plan 

For information regarding Northart's 2020 - 2022 Strategic Plan, including descriptions of the gallery's vision, mission, values, goals, and priorities, please click HERE.